THE ROYAL GREEN JACKETS MUSEUM
ROMSEY ROAD, WINCHESTER, HAMPSHIRE
Tel: 01962 828549
The Museum is open throughout the year except for two weeks over Christmas and New Year.
Saturday 10.00 am to 5.00
Sunday only 12.00 noon to 4 pm
The Museum was opened by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth 11, Colonel-in-Chief of The Regiment in 1989. It tells the story of its famous Regiments from 1741 to the present time. The Regiments, the 43rd and 52nd (The Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry), The Kings Royal Rifle Corps (60th Rifles) who were formed in North America in 1755, and the Rifle Brigade (95th) joined together in 1966 to become the Royal Green Jackets.
Museum Ground Floor Plan
The Regiments combining to make the Royal Green Jackets have been awarded fifty-five Victoria Crosses; of which thirty-four are in the Museum. The unique collection of uniforms, weapons , silver, paintings and other artefacts spans almost 250 years. Historic items include General Wolfe`s writing case from Quebec and collections of items worn by Royalty and Field Marshals like Wellington.
Museum 1st Floor Plan
There are several Thomas Baines paintings of South Africa, together with portraits, miniatures and battle scenes, including the famous Capture of French Battery by the 52nd Light Infantry at WATERLOO. Throughout the Museum artefacts abound and include a Jibbah (Dervish Surcoat) worn by the Khalifa at the Battle of Omdurman. Amongst the nine battle models is one of Waterloo measuring 22`x 11` and containing 22,000 model soldiers and horses plus a sound and light commentary.
ALL visitors are welcome to the Museum and there is good provision for disabled visitors, with all areas able to accommodate wheelchairs and a stairlift to the first floor.